Our network

Races Set for 10 General Assembly Seats | Politics

Title (Max 100 Characters)

Races Set for 10 General Assembly Seats

Central Georgia voters will decide five state House races and five Senate races during this election season.

Meanwhile, 10 representatives and three senators face no opposition.

Qualifying for the state Senate and state Representative races ended at noon Friday.

Here are the qualifiers.

In State Senate District 18, incumbent Cecil Staton, a Macon Republican, has a challenger:Thomaston physician Spencer Price. They'll meet in the July 31 Republican primary and the winner has no opposition in November.

State Senate District 25 incumbent Johnny Grant of Milledgeville will defend his seat against two fellow Republicans, Robert Kent of Milledgeville and Burt Jones of Jackson. Both own insurance agencies.

And Democrat Daryl Black of Milledgeville also qualified.

He'll be on the November ballot along with the winner of the July 31 Republican primary.

Senate District 26:

Incumbent Miriam Paris, D-Macon, is seeking a second term.

Her challengers:

Bobby Gale, a Republican from Irwinton.
David Lucas, a longtime former Macon state representative.
Irving Martinez of Macon, a Democrat, who says he is retired.
Paris, Martinez and Lucas will face off in the July 31 Democratic primary; the winner will face Gale in November.

In Senate District 15, which includes Taylor and Macon counties, incumbent Ed Harbison, a Columbus Democrat, has two challengers.

They are:

David Brown of Reynolds, a Republican who is a pastor and an engineer;
Reginald Pugh of Columbus, a Democrat and a licensed social worker.
The winner of the Democratic primary faces Brown in November.

In Senate District 23, which includes Johnson County, incumbent Jesse Stone faces a challenger, Robert Ingram, in November. Stone is a Waynesboro Republican; Ingram is a Hephzibah Democrat.

In House District 139, three Democrats qualified to replace incumbent Lynmore James, who is retiring. They are:

Patty Bentley of Reynolds;
Thomas Coogle of Oglethorpe;
Michael Dinkins of Fort Valley.
The district includes Taylor, Macon and Dooly counties.

They'll meet in the July 31 primary; there is no Republican opposition.

House District 142: Nikki Randall, the incumbent, and challenger Gerald Harvey, a former Macon city council member. Both are Democrats. They'll meet in the July 31 primary.

House District 144: Dry Branch Republican Bubber Epps, the incumbent, and challenger Mary Ann Whipple-Lue of Gordon, a Democrat. She is retired. They'll both be on the November ballot.

House District 145: Milledgeville state representative Rusty Kidd, an independent, faces a Democratic challenger, Quentin Howell, who also ran for the seat in 2010. He lists his occupation as "Business Owner/Radio Host/Community Leader." As an independent, Kidd is not required to qualify this week

House District 149: Incumbent Jimmy Pruett has a challenger, John Clements, a farmer from Eastman. Both are Republicans.


These incumbents also qualified this week and have no opposition:
Senate District 13, John Dickey Crosby, R-Tifton. His district includes Dodge, Wilcox and Dooly counties.

Senate District 19: Tommy Williams, R-Lyons. His district includes Treutlen, Wheeler and Wilcox counties.

Senate District 20, Ross Tolleson, R-Perry

House District 120, Mickey Channel, R-Greensboro. His district includes Putnam County.

House District 128, Mack Jackson, D-Sandersville. His district includes Hancock, Washington and part of Johnson counties.

House District 129, Susan Holmes, R-Monticello

House District 140, Robert Dickey, Musella

House District 141, Allen Peake, R-Macon

House District 143, James Beverly D-Macon

House District 146, Larry O'Neal, R-Warner Robins

House District 147, Willie Talton, R-Warner Robins

House District 148, Buddy Harden, Cordele. His district includes Wilcox, Pulaski and part of Houston County.

House District 150, Matt Hatchett, R-Dublin



Robins Businesses